Wool Omnibus (books 1-5)

Let me start this post out by saying: my boyfriend gives me awesome gifts. The books, in particular, are incredible. Usually, it’s something I’d never heard of, and for the most part, they’re good. Really, really good. He’s either given me, or turned me onto several of the books I’m going to be posting about here.

One of my favorites he’s given me so far was the Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howy. It contains the first five books of the Wool series. I read the first book in an hour or two, but couldn’t bring myself to read the next story afterwards. The ending of the first book was so final, so… mind blowingly awesome, that I had a hard time imagining how it could pick up again. But, after a few weeks of “Why aren’t you reading that book I got you? Didn’t you like it?”, the sense of guilt hanging over my head outweighed my fears about the book, which turned out to be for nothing. It was so good. So. Good.

Seriously, you have no idea.

Wool-by-Hugh-Howey

So, lets get to the meat of this.

Concept
I don’t want to say too much about this – part of the brilliance of this book is the sense of discovery.

The first book was initially written as a standalone piece, but readers became so enamored with the world that Howey created that they demanded more. And, thankfully, he gave them what they asked for.

The first book, Wool, follows Holston, the sherrif of the Silo. Throughout this short book, Holston revisits the events surrounding the death of his wife, and how they have lead him to commit the most heinous crime one can commit within the Silo. He asks to go outside.

The second book in the series Wool: Proper Gauge picks up right where the first left off, and takes the story in an interesting new direction. In Wool: Proper Gauge, and the subsequent installments, Wool: Casting Off, Wool: The Unraveling, and Wool: The Stranded, we are introduced to a larger story, which completely blew my mind.

Exposition
The story is revealed in a 3rd person limited narrative format, switching perspective a few times between volumes and chapters. Information about the world of Wool is presented to readers through the investigations and discourse of major characters. Although each of the five books are fairly short, they all tend to take a slightly different approach to exposition – with each exploring new and different aspects of the Silo’s society, and the world at large.

The Good
A killer story, great writing, believable characters, strong female characters. Nothing about this book felt contrived or cliche. It was an awesome, unique work of science fiction. There were a couple points in the story where, at the time of the big reveal, I literally shouted “Oh my god, I knew it!” But I think that was the point. I was also, literally, on the edge of my seat several times during this book. I loved it.

The Bad
I have nothing bad to say about this book. Sorry!

Final Thoughts
Buy this fucking book. Right now.
This is the best work of fiction I have come across to date, let alone independent, self-published fiction. Seriously. Read it.

Also worthy of note: 20th Century Fox bought the rights to make Wool into a film. AND Ridley Scott has expressed interest in directing.

ALSO, it’s being made into a comic book, available through the Amazon comic press, and will be available soon on Kindle and various Kindle apps.

There is literally not enough good things I can say about this book. I loved every little thing about it. It can be a little slow at times, but I still found the pacing to be excellent.

Grade
“A+”. ‘Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

